April 26, 2024, 12:00:13 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: electron configuration ex gold  (Read 18859 times)

Offline matt1234

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
electron configuration ex gold
« on: September 10, 2009, 12:10:38 PM »
Hello
I have a question about the configuration of gold
[xe] 4f14 5d10 6s1  this element has a total of 79 electrons.   are the lower levels of f d and s full aswell?  Because if they were it would be more then 79 electrons would it not?

Sorry im a new chem student taking gr 11 chem. 

I

Offline renge ishyo

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-14
Re: electron configuration ex gold
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 03:48:49 PM »
The orbitals don't necessarily fill in numerical order. For instance, the 4f orbital doesn't fill until after the 6s orbital has filled. Have a look at the aufbau chart to get an idea of the filling order of the orbitals:

http://chemistry.about.com/od/electronicstructure/ss/aufbau_2.htm

After some time you'll be able to deduce the order of filling directly from the periodic table, but this takes a bit more work to see.

Offline matt1234

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 05:07:56 PM »
Here is what the teacher wrote on the board and it confuses me. 

Offline renge ishyo

• Chemist
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 06:39:54 PM »
All of that information is correct, but it won't help you answer your original question. Which part of the notes do you find confusing? Remember that each orbital holds a maximum of two electrons. There are three p orbitals, so in the 2p or the 3p rows you can fit 6 electrons. On the other hand, there are five d orbitals, so in the 3d orbital you can fit a total of 10 electrons. Remember two electrons per orbital. and just memorize how many orbitals an "s", "p", or "d" has and you can figure out how many electrons fit in there. Keep at it. This stuff is quite confusing at first!

Offline matt1234

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2009, 07:34:23 PM »
Thank you for your help,