April 28, 2024, 05:07:49 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Surfactant in a silicone oil / fluorinert system  (Read 8165 times)

Offline Hallu

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Surfactant in a silicone oil / fluorinert system
« on: November 19, 2009, 11:50:28 AM »
Hi,
I'm a researcher studying acoustic radiation pressure on liquid / liquid interfaces and I'm currently working on a DC 200 100 cSt (silicone oil by Dow Corning, it's a pDMS oil, (C2H6OSi)n) / FC72 (Fluorinert liquid, formula C6H14 manufactured by 3M) system, and I want to minimize the interfacial tension (typically I use 300 ml of each liquid, so the interface is about 100 cm²). Unfortunately, I can't find any data about a surfactant that would be soluble in the DC200 silicone oil... Everybody is using water soluble surfactant, or other types of oils (hexadecane, dodecane, mineral oils) soluble surfactant, never silicone oils such as DC200. Do you know any surfactant that would be soluble in DC200, and its CMC if possible ? Or maybe a surfactant soluble in fluorinert FC72 (I'd rather not though, since it's a very expensive liquid) ? I can't change the liquids, because I need very specific acoustic parameters (speed of sound, density).
I've already done a lot of research in surfactant books etc... but noone uses the kind of interfacial system I use. They always have a aqueous phase.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Offline Hallu

Re: Surfactant in a silicone oil / fluorinert system
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 04:58:08 AM »
No one can help me with this ?

Offline marquis

• Mole Snacks: +35/-3
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 07:10:08 PM »
I have some experience with dow corning 350/360 (DC350/360) silicone oil.  We don't use a surfactant in it.  However, the test method for DC350/360 uses petroleum ether to wash the silicone off the parts before testing by FTIR.