April 28, 2024, 11:18:48 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: pH of strong acids.  (Read 7472 times)

Offline hamil

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
pH of strong acids.
« on: December 04, 2009, 01:50:03 PM »
When one discussed pH, the pH is normally on the range of 0 to 14. It seems that pHdiscussions are about weak acids. If you have a strong acid of say 6 M HCl, the pH should be -.77 is this correct?  Is there a reason why pH is considered to be in the range of 0 to 14 and not-2 to 16 for example?

Offline stewie griffin

• Mole Snacks: +61/-7
Re: pH of strong acids.
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 02:16:44 PM »
I'm not an expert in the area of pH... maybe some analytical chemistry folks can help out in this discussion. But I do know that there's nothing wrong with having a pH outside of the 0-14 range. For some reason in general chemistry pH is taught as if ONLY 0-14 exists, but I've seen several cases where the pH is in fact negative (I believe it's in the case of superacids that I saw this... something like SbF5 mixed with HF).
I haven't seen a pH above 14 though....don't know why not.

Offline stewie griffin

• Mole Snacks: +61/-7
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2009, 02:26:12 PM »
Here's something similar that I found on the internet.
http://www.newton.dep.anl.gov/askasci/chem99/chem99230.htm

Offline BetaAmyloid

• Mole Snacks: +18/-38
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2009, 03:01:01 PM »
pH is based on a scale of 1 mol dm-3 solutions (solvents specifically in water) between the strong acid hydrochloric acid and the strong base sodium hydroxide. The pH scale will never change, since it is solely based on solvents in water between HCl and NaOH. pH could be considered as a basis for measuring acidities, or as a control to a group of experiments.