April 27, 2024, 01:39:42 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: synthesis of essential drugs  (Read 9914 times)

Offline experimenter

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
synthesis of essential drugs
« on: December 16, 2009, 03:09:51 PM »
I'm a physician with basic knowledge of organic chemistry.

I would like to know what is the best reference (maybe more than one) that explains the synthesis of essential medical drugs. If there's no one particular compendium-type publication then how do I go about looking for journal articles or proven patents that explain the synthesis of individual drugs. Ideally the process should be explained from start to finish. Sort of like a lab manual.

Offline nj_bartel

• Mole Snacks: +76/-42
Re: synthesis of essential drugs
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2009, 03:38:30 PM »
inputting "total synthesis of (insert drug name here)" is usually a good start.  Other than that, I only really know of scifinder, an outrageously expensive program you probably don't have access to unless you're near a university.

Offline tmartin

• Mole Snacks: +15/-2
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2009, 04:12:46 PM »
I have a copy of The Merck Index, I really haven't used it much but I can see it being useful as a reference for drugs, natural products, and biologicals.  It lists compounds in encyclopedia format with references to literature articles (presumably of their synthesis/relevant info).  Not sure if it is available online (I think it is?) and whether or not it is free to access.

Edit: It is available through the internet, but not free, you can access it through Cambridgesoft.
https://themerckindex.cambridgesoft.com/TheMerckIndex/index.asp

Offline orgopete

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +213/-71
    • Curved Arrow Press
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2009, 06:21:23 PM »
The Organic Chemistry of Drug Synthesis