April 28, 2024, 09:43:21 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Home Prickly Pear Skin Extraction  (Read 11676 times)

Offline stevenmac5

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Home Prickly Pear Skin Extraction
« on: January 11, 2010, 02:59:53 AM »
Hi everybody this is my first time posting on this forum and I was hoping you guys could help me out with a little experiment I'm trying.

I have read a lot about a substance called Tex-OE which is basically an extraction of prickly pear skin used for many different purposes. I personally would like to extract some myself for supplementation to assist performance as I am an active weight lifter. The people who hold this patent charge an arm and a leg to get it and they sell prickly pear fruits locally buy my house so I figure I would like to cut out the middle man if possible.

I looked at their patent and in it they talk about the way they choose to extract what they want from it:
They say they dry, dehydrate, followed by a leaching with a polar organic solvent in order to obtain an organic fruit extract, this extract is diluted with water, the diluted water is purified by leaching with hexane, the hexanic organic fraction is separated off then evaporated to dryness under vacuum. The active fraction is further dried and actively taken up in a biocompatible solvent such as ethanol.
Further down in example 1 it say they treated 1g of the skin with 10 times its weight of polar solvent.

http://www.google.com/patents?id=CEMRAAAAEBAJ&pg=PA1&lpg=PA1&dq=patent+6737086+B2&source=bl&ots=H9sBdkS35o&sig=1Q5Q5_pECPjSVu-cEjd0Of7uWt4&hl=en&ei=EGJKS6-OIYbSsQPry-H1Dw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=5&ved=0CBkQ6AEwBA#v=onepage&q=patent%206737086%20B2&f=false

If I could somehow do this at home or if you know of a better way that would be great.

I don't know a whole lot about chemistry so any and all advice helps. I also wonder at the same time if I could get the same benefits from just eating the prickly pear skin?

Offline billnotgatez