April 26, 2024, 08:19:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Props for getting this one - significant figures  (Read 5679 times)

Offline wilmas1

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Props for getting this one - significant figures
« on: January 10, 2010, 12:01:51 AM »
Hey all! I am a newbie taking chem 1050 in college as a prereq for my nursing degree. Completely stumped by this question. Here we go... ???
What is the shortest length that could be measured with ruler B (ruler of 15 centimeters with millimeter graduations) that would contain four significant figures?
Answers are:
a) Exactly 1cm, b) exactly 5cm, c) exactly 10cm, d)exactly 15cm.
Please explain how you got your answer. Thanks!!

Offline RobertT

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Re: Props for getting this one - significant figures
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 03:46:20 AM »
The "would contain" is a bit ambiguous but, as a hint, you should remember what follows an exact number. This being said, try to solve it without the total guidance of others :)

Offline wilmas1

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 12:44:42 PM »
try to solve it without the total guidance of others :)
[/quote]
Apologies for not being hard-wired for this sort of stuff.  We all can't be geniuses in chemistry. I have thought about this problem for HOURS, DAYS-and I think I have it figured out...on my own. I thought the purpose of this board was to offer help, not criticism. That being said, what you did offer helped solidify my answer, so thanks.

Offline RobertT

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 07:21:35 PM »
Apologies for not being hard-wired for this sort of stuff.  We all can't be geniuses in chemistry. I have thought about this problem for HOURS, DAYS-and I think I have it figured out...on my own. I thought the purpose of this board was to offer help, not criticism. That being said, what you did offer helped solidify my answer, so thanks.
[/quote]