April 29, 2024, 09:00:34 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Full list of metals classified in(by) Electrochemical series...  (Read 9779 times)

Offline Like_A_Whisper

• Mole Snacks: +1/-4
Full list of metals classified in(by) Electrochemical series...
« on: February 09, 2010, 02:20:51 PM »
I don't know if the title explains it enough, but I will try to make it clearer.
Metals have the attribute of giving away electrons while fusing with nonmetals, acids, (In Redox reactions which I am studying in school now) and in many more processes i presume; in order to achieve a stable electronic configuration of a noble(Inert) gas(Which is placed before the current element in the Periodic Table), and the nonmetals are gaining those electrons in order to do achieve a stable electronic configuration of a noble(Inert) gas(Which is placed after the current element in the Periodic Table). And now there is a chemical rule that every metal which is placed on the left side of the hydrogen is able to extrude the hydrogen from a compound and take its place(During that process the hydrogen is unleashed in the еnvironment freely). There is a list of the most common metals who can extrude/who can't extrude the hydrogen. Here is what i have:

Li, K, Ca, Na, Al, Zn, Fe, Cd, Ni, Sn, Pb, H2, Cu, Ag, Hg, Au

If someone knows, please tell me where to find the full list of these metals.
Kind Regards, Igor

Offline Angelant99

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: Full list of metals classified in(by) Electrochemical series...
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 02:34:54 PM »
What i think you're referring to is a list of "standard electrode potentials".

I conveniently have a nice list in my Nuffield "Book of data" at my desk right now lol

I can't say this is very neatly formatted, but wiki has a page on it:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_electrode_potential_%28data_page%29 
and looking at it..some values are a little different from my book of data lol uh ohs.