March 29, 2024, 10:12:12 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to deal with a theoretical-oriented teaching...  (Read 4567 times)

Offline MrTeo

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +31/-9
How to deal with a theoretical-oriented teaching...
« on: December 27, 2010, 05:50:13 AM »
Hello everybody!

A couple of months ago I started studying chemistry in Pisa (Italy), but I've soon discovered that the scientific approach to the subject, in SNS (a higher learning institution which granted me a scholarship) and also in University, tough not so strikingly, is tailored to train computational and theoretical chemists (during the first three years we follow, in addition to the courses in university, advanced physics and maths classes, sometimes the same of the physicist, while the chemistry courses have only a few hours each year and their main purpose is to show us an overview of some cutting edge research topics in the computational area, rather than teach us something). Moreover the quality of the University is quite poor, except for some courses. Now, I had heard before enrolling in that school, that except for physical chemistry, they didn't offer much to those who wanted to pursue different study tracks, but it seems to me that even for the ones who would like to prepare for a career as an experimental chemist (also in the physical/biophysical area) SNS and the University don't offer much.