July 27, 2024, 06:45:07 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: A chemistry project - need an experiment thought by myself  (Read 3924 times)

Offline wonghk

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
A chemistry project - need an experiment thought by myself
« on: March 05, 2010, 06:56:02 AM »
Hello,everyone!
I am a form 6 student from Hong Kong.
My teacher requires my classmates and me to group (5 guys in one group) and do a project.
The project is about an experiment thought by ourselves.
In two successive weeks,we have one lesson a week to carry out the experiment.
The duration of one lesson is 2 hours and 50 minutes

Yet,it is difficult to think what topic should we study.
I have asked my teachers for if it is acceptable for the following topics:
1:Recrystallization;
2:Making a Cobalt(II) chloride thermometer;
3:investigating the fluoride content in chewing gum.
The topics above are all rejected...

For 1 , 2
my teacher said it was to easy to carry out because the techniques involved in the experiments are easy to master,
and the duration of the experiment may be too short such that the two lessons cannot be fully utilised.

for 3
He said the students last year had failed on topic related to fluoride and he strongly recommended us not to do any experiment about finding out the fluoride content.

He wants us to think of an experiment which is:
1:creative and there must be something initiative.
2:able to make use of the two lessons.
3:interesting and having a clear objective.
4:not requiring some expensive devices,apparatus and chemicals.(because our school is poor,XX US dollar is OK)

May somebody suggest some topics??
I think what I need is not some experiment to copy,but enlightenment that can help me to think,or somethings that can guide me.
I am not interested in food-chemistry,but it is acceptable.
I really haven't a clue.I just can't think of an appropriate experiment that meets the above criteria.
Many are too quick to finish or just far beyond our level.