March 28, 2024, 09:30:13 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Intriguing Graduate School Route  (Read 5064 times)

Offline zdsync

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Intriguing Graduate School Route
« on: March 26, 2010, 02:48:55 PM »
Hi all. I'm a recent chemistry college grad planning to take a rather nontraditional route to graduate school. I have a few concerns about it so I was hoping that I could get some advice from more experienced and objective minds than mine. 

I graduated in May 2009 from a top 20 liberal arts school with a B.S. in Chemistry (A.C.S.-certified); my overall GPA was a 3.25 and my major GPA was 3.15 (my general science GPA is a tick better). The only significant black mark I have on my transcript is my senior fall in which I overwhelmed myself by taking biochem, p-chem, and inorganic all at the same time. I didn't fail any of my classes but it still wasn't pretty. However, the following semester I was able to bounce back and put up decent marks in second-semester p-chem and advanced organic. I also spent a summer and a full academic year working in a synthetic organic laboratory as an independent study. I have no official publications but I have given symposium presentations and written analytical reports for the faculty. Long-term, I want to get a Ph.D. in Chemistry with a focus in Organic Synthesis.