March 29, 2024, 03:06:33 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: I apologize, but I'm new in syntheses.  (Read 5410 times)

Offline somethingtoxic

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
I apologize, but I'm new in syntheses.
« on: May 16, 2010, 08:37:58 AM »
A basic synthesis of magnesium to threonine.

Okay in an acidic solution, give magnesium, then it bond to make M-thr? Right????

Offline Doc Oc

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +48/-12
Re: I apologize, but I'm new in syntheses.
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 07:48:32 PM »
Your post doesn't make much sense.  Synthesis of magnesium to threonine, what does that mean?  Are you asking what will happen if you mix these two together?  I'm not sure if anything would happen if you mixed the two things together, although if you're thinking that it will make a Grignard type reagent it won't.

Maybe you can clarify?

Offline somethingtoxic

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 01:36:33 AM »
Yeah, obvious noob here, I don't deny it.

Bonding magnesium to L-threonine. Does it take perhaps a magnesium hydroxide approach?

Offline Schrödinger

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +138/-98
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2010, 10:23:58 AM »
Where do you want Magnesium to be bonded in Threonine? I mean to which atom do you want it attached?
"Destiny is not a matter of chance; but a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for; it is a thing to be achieved."
- William Jennings Bryan

Offline OrganicSynthesis

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2010, 02:28:01 PM »
Could he possibly mean using a grignard reagent and other reactants to synthesize threonine?

Offline somethingtoxic

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2010, 01:27:24 AM »
where would be the best place for the Mg atom to be attached, and what process could do that?

Offline Doc Oc

• Chemist
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2010, 08:55:11 AM »