March 29, 2024, 07:29:52 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: BSc and PhD at the same school?  (Read 8492 times)

Offline interminable

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
BSc and PhD at the same school?
« on: August 14, 2010, 04:29:13 PM »
I'm looking into doing my PhD, and most people have told me that it's a bad idea to do it at the same school that I did my bachelors.

I'm just looking for thoughts and opinions on this. Is it actually frowned upon? Professors at my current school have told me staying is fine - but their opinion is biased because they were trying to convince me to do grad studies with them.

Offline Biopolmonkey

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Re: BSc and PhD at the same school?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 08:25:20 PM »
I think it partly depends on what you want to do and what university you go to. I am doing my PhD at the same university I did my undergraduate at - of the 7 other PhD students in my group, only 2 studied elsewhere. This is partly because my university has a well-respected polymer centre (my area) but retainment of undergrads is also high throughout the department. The people I know who have left having done both undergrad and PhD at my uni have had no problems in getting jobs, although some get sucked into staying for years and years through to post-doc and beyond. Personally, this is something I want to avoid.

Think about if you trust your university to give you a good PhD, are there people researching the science you want to do?  Can you stand to stay there for another few years?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 03:58:05 AM »
Where are you? As far as I know there is nothing unusual with doing both at the same place in Europe, things look differently in US.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Yggdrasil

• Retired Staff