April 27, 2024, 09:14:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: decomposition of H2O2  (Read 11247 times)

Offline jenri619june

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
decomposition of H2O2
« on: June 15, 2010, 11:20:41 AM »
Hi,first of all thank you for taking time to read this. I am a student currently working on a project, that requires me to solve a few equations, i am currently v confused with what i have now and wonder if you could spare me some of your time to enlighten me.

I am working with the decomposition of hydrogen peroxide.
2H2O2 --> 2H2O + O2

i need the amount of O2 produced to be at least 8litres per min over a period of time, thus i am trying to find out the concentration of hydrogen peroxide to use. I will need to be able to draw a graph that shows the amount of O2 produced per min at the end of the day.

I actually have two eq.

1.The Arrhenius equation of decomposition of hydrogen peroxide:
k=Ae^-(Ea/(RT)),
Ea to be 75kJ/mol
R=8.314Jmol^-1K^-1
T= 298K
A= 10^11 s^-1

So what i got after i sub the value in is k to be 0.0071322 units??
2.Assumed kinetic equation: (suggested)

dO2 over dt = 1/2[H2O2]k     ,k from the above equation
How will I be able to get a graph that shows the amount of O2 produced per min at the end of the day?

I tried the equation : (got from internet (first order))

-d[H2O2] over dt =[H2O2]k

d[H2O2] over [H2O2] = -kdt
and after integration : ln[H2O2]= -kt+c
then i am stucked...again.

I am very confused, please help me.

Thanks.

Offline tamim83

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-7
  • Quantum Kitten
Re: decomposition of H2O2
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 12:22:27 PM »
So what i got after i sub the value in is k to be 0.0071322 units??

Units for k (first order) = s-1

i am trying to find out the concentration of hydrogen peroxide to use

You should be able to use the rate law, since you know k and the rate. 

rate = k[H202]