April 28, 2024, 03:31:37 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Regarding factors(their order and extent) affecting chemical bonding  (Read 3956 times)

Offline sahilsharma94

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I am a student of class XI studying in delhi , india. I have been introduced to chemical bonding this year itself. the problem i face is that i dont know how , where, in what order to apply the  factors when judging things like(type of questions) :
1) stability of bond
2) stability of compound
3) bond strength
4) bond angle
5) possibility of formation of compound
5) boiling point of compounds
6) formation of dimers

the factors which we , here in india consider in tackling the aforesaid problems are :
1) judging the hybridization of the compound
2) seeing the steric factor near the central atom
3) resonance
4) pi back-bonding
5) 3c 2e bonding
6) dimerization
7) presence of vacant orbitals
8) electronegativity of elements

the problems i face are :
1) hybridization the theory , where is it applicable?.. every time i practice this theory , a new compound springs up which is better explained by considering other theories , not hybridization
2) when considering problems relating to bond angles  , whether to consider steric factor , resonance , pi back-bonding leading to delocalization of electrons , VSEPR(lone pair lone pair repulsion etc) , repulsion of lone pairs of other atoms( like fluorine) , while solving the problem?. If all factors are be considered , which are to given more weightage while taking out final answer ?