April 26, 2024, 02:58:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Struggling with NMR problems  (Read 7224 times)

Offline intrusionv2

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Struggling with NMR problems
« on: July 28, 2010, 02:19:26 PM »
Hello, I'm studying for an upcoming test and struggling pretty badly with some (easy?) NMR problems.

I was wondering if someone can just walk me through a problem step by step and show me exactly what I need to do for every problem? When my teacher does these types of problems, I have no idea where he gets some of the information from. I know that it's all contained in the NMR problem, but it would be nice if I knew where.

So anyways here's one problem (no chart, just tabulated NMR data):

C7H6Br2. IR: 3300, 2980, 2180 cm-1.  1HNMR: 3.6 (s, 2H), 2.1 (s, 1H); 13CNMR: 78,72,52,31.

I know the answer just don't know how to get there using this data. Thanks for any help.

Offline Jorriss

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +41/-14
Re: Struggling with NMR problems
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 03:15:18 PM »
A useful technique right off the bat is determining the index of hydrogen deficiency. Here we have, C7H6Br2 - 7 + 1 - .5(6+2) = 4

What does an IHD of four suggest? To me it suggest an aromatic ring, but is this consistent with the IR and NMR data provided?

Can you give some more of your thoughts? When you see all that data, what do you think?

Offline intrusionv2

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 03:27:31 PM »
Thanks for your response. I do know how to calculate IDHs.

I guess I see that it can't be a ring because there are only singlets. But what do I do next?  ???
« Last Edit: July 28, 2010, 03:52:37 PM by intrusionv2 »

Offline Jorriss

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +41/-14
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 04:19:43 PM »
Right. And let's look at those carbon-13 NMR and the IR spec.