April 28, 2024, 03:15:53 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Blending Liguids by Weight  (Read 5549 times)

Offline mblanco2000

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Blending Liguids by Weight
« on: August 03, 2010, 09:34:47 AM »
I am new to the chemistry world, and blending of chemicals.  We are a very small business and have just set up a small blending facility to blend some of our existing products.  Now with this new equipment it also gives us the capability to blend other chemicals that fit into our industry.  It will allow us to expand our line card, so to speak.

One thing that I am trying to figure out is how to blend chemicals by liquid weight rather than liquid volume.  I have few raw chemicals that I would like to try to blend together by weight, but I am at an impasse here.  For example, if I have three chemicals:

chem A
chem B
water

That I want to blend together by weight how should I go about it.  I weighted chem a, b, and water @ 50 mL to be able to project that out into how large a batch I wanted to make, but I am not sure that is the right way to do it.  I actually talked to one person and he was saying that I would need to get the specific gravity from the MSDS sheet and do some sort of calculation to determine the amount of chemical to get to my desired percentages.  I have searched the internet on this subject and not found anywhere to help me out.  Hopefully I am in the right place for this.  Any help is appreciated, and if I need to give more information please let me know.

Offline Stepan

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +39/-4
  • Air Chemistry Man
    • Supplier of air sampling equipment and services
Re: Blending Liguids by Weight
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 12:20:52 PM »
What is the batch size: g, kg, tons? What kind of measuring tools do you have: scales, volumetric cylinders, hygrometers? how viscous are the components? What precision do you need to achieve? 

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member