April 26, 2024, 06:54:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Quantum mechanics - atomic orbitals  (Read 2998 times)

Offline JohnTan

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Quantum mechanics - atomic orbitals
« on: August 31, 2010, 06:37:14 AM »
Hi everyone,
I am new to quantum mechanics and have been learning about Bohr, Schrodinger etc. however, I can't quite get my head around the basic idea of electron energy levels. First of all, I thought hydrogen only had one electron orbital (1s), however, the Bohr model shows several..are these representing electron orbitals or something else?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Quantum mechanics - atomic orbitals
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 08:37:28 AM »
There are many orbitals, but at a given moment electron occupies only one. It is a little bit like having a $1 note and many pockets - it can be in only one at the time.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline opti384

• Mole Snacks: +33/-25
    • In the Search for the Laws of Nature
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2010, 11:00:08 AM »
Well quantum mechanics is complicated and difficult. For hydrogen there would be only 1s because there is only 1 electron (for a neutral hydrogen atom). However, the case is different for other atoms. That is why the Bohr model shows several others.

Offline cliverlong

• Mole Snacks: +60/-14
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2010, 08:10:08 AM »
<< cut >>
First of all, I thought hydrogen only had one electron orbital (1s),
<< snip >>
That's your misunderstanding.
Go back to the books / sources where you think you read that.
Do they really say (something like)
A single hydrogen atom has multiple energy orbitals /levels.