April 28, 2024, 11:27:32 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Allylsilanes on ESI+  (Read 3807 times)

Offline Telamond

• Mole Snacks: +6/-0
Allylsilanes on ESI+
« on: September 17, 2010, 02:33:34 PM »
Hello, I'm an organic chemist and I've tried to analyze my allylsilane compounds on the MS (ESI+), but they seem to be decomposing and I can't see the peaks at where they should be.
Is there any specific reasons for this? Should I use some kind of derivatization?

Any input is helpful, thank you.

Offline MOTOBALL

• Mole Snacks: +50/-5
Re: Allylsilanes on ESI+
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010, 11:06:44 AM »
1) Are your compounds of the general type CH2=CH-CH2-Si-R3  (NOT Si-O-Si siloxanes) ??

2) Is your mobile phase MeCN/water or other ??

3) Do you see hydrolysis products ??

Suggest you use non-protic solvents (e.g. MeCN) with a small amount of silver tetrafluorborate (ca. 10 mg/100 mL) to generate [M + Ag]+ ions; these are very obvious due to the Ag 108/110 doublet (~1:1 intensity)

Also possibly run in CH2Cl2 in -ve mode, see [M + Cl]- ions; again, very obvious due to Cl 35/37 doublet (~3:1 intensity).

You are ONLY allowed to act on these options if you report back the results---whether they are successful or not.  Seriously, we all learn from the negative results as well as
the positive.

Good Luck !!

Offline MOTOBALL

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2010, 02:05:41 PM »
My first response was to answer the question you asked regarding ESI.

My second response is to answer the question you did not ask.  If these samples came into my lab. I would suggest Chemical ionization (CI)-MS, either direct insertion probe for solids or GC/MS for liquids, to determine MW if you are just checking "did I make it ?"
or electron impact EI for a fingerprint spectrum for structural elucidation.

Offline Telamond

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 01:44:09 PM »
Thank you for your answer and sorry for the delay in replying!