April 24, 2024, 09:39:37 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Which C-bond is most polar?  (Read 24306 times)

Offline 33seven

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Which C-bond is most polar?
« on: September 22, 2010, 04:08:14 PM »
Hello everyone, this is my first post on these forums. I am a student in an Organic Chemistry I course and am struggling a little, so I need some help. We just took our first test which I got an 84.2% on, but I would like to improve that so that my test scores are at least A's and hopefully some 100%'s. I have a bunch of questions which i will be posting from my 1st test which i need some guidance on, so here goes;

Which of the following covalent bonds would be considered most polar?
a) C-H  b)C-F  c)C-O  d)C-Na  e)C-N

I chose C-F, but it was marked wrong. Could someone explain what is the correct answer and why?

Offline macman104

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +168/-26
Re: Which C-bond is most polar?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2010, 05:19:07 PM »
Well, if not C-F, which is your next guess?  Is there another C-__ pair that has very different electronegativities?

Offline 33seven

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2010, 05:30:19 PM »
Well, since F is the most electronegative, then that pretty much eliminates O and N, I know C-H is not polar or barely polar, so the only wild card would be C-Na. If its not C-F then the only other possible answer is C-Na. If thats the answer though, then I think this was a BS question to put on our test b/c we dont have a chart of electronegativity values and our teacher specifically told us in class to not pay attention to those values anyways b/c they are not entirely representative of what really happens when two different atoms bond.

Offline Jorriss

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +41/-14
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 12:10:41 AM »
It's not BS.

Carbon is a non-metal.

Fluorine is a non-metal.

Sodium is a metal.

It's tricky and you gave it a fair shot.

Offline orgopete

• Chemist