April 29, 2024, 05:33:36 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Polar Covalent Bonds; Acids and Bases  (Read 9710 times)

Offline retretretretretret

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Polar Covalent Bonds; Acids and Bases
« on: October 05, 2010, 05:51:15 PM »
I'm studying for a test and I have many questions. Any help with any number of them is greatly appreciated.

1. Would CH3CH2OH (Lewis base) + HCl form CH3CH2OH2+ and Cl- or CH3CH2OH-HCL?
2. Would B(CH3)3 (Lewis acid) + OH- form (CH3)2B-O and CH4?
3. Would protonized Imidazole (C3H3N2H2+(?)) have more than 3 resonance forms?
4. Why would CH3F have a smaller dipole moment than CH3Cl if Fluorine is more electronegative?
5. Is the O-H hydrogen in ethanoic acid (CH3COOH) more acidic than the C-H hydrogen because of the resonance between the 2 O atoms? Is there even any resonance there? I'm asked to explain why using resonance forms.
6. Is tert-butoxide anion a strong enough base to react with water? Its pKa is 18. I don't really see why not, so I don't know what concept I'm even supposed to be working on here. Water has a pKa of 15 or something.

Offline retretretretretret

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: Polar Covalent Bonds; Acids and Bases
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 12:47:08 AM »
K so since I didn't get any replies I had to find the answers myself and in case someone needs these answers too...

1. CH3CH2OH+ and Cl- (generally you would need both a lewis base and lewis acid reacting to get an acid-base complex, but here we have a bronsted-lowry acid)
2. Yes (aaaactually still not totally sure about that, but I think it's right)
3. Nope, just 3
4. The C-F bond is shorter than the C-Cl bond and dipole moments are proportionate to r (u=Qxr), so the smaller radius in CH3F makes for a smaller dipole moment.
5. Yyyyyes... tentatively. I'm thinking the resonance would decrease the electron density around the O-H oxygen atom so that bond is weaker and the O-H hydrogen is more easily released than the C-H hydrogen.