April 23, 2024, 06:51:33 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Chemistry Syllabus?  (Read 16433 times)

t-fresh

Chemistry Syllabus?
« on: August 06, 2005, 11:55:16 AM »
Hello everyone!

This is my first year teaching at a private school and have been asked to teach 11th and 12th grade Chemistry.  No one else in the school is able to do it and I am extremely under-qualified.  

Nonetheless, I must teach it.  I have survived the first two days of class but I'm not sure that I will last that long.  I barely understand the basic concepts.

I have been reading through our textbook daily and also been reading the Idiot's Guide to Chemistry for extra help.  I still am in desparate need for some guidance from some real chemists.

Here's another catch:  the school can't afford to purchase any equipment or chemicals so we will not be having any labs this year.

I need someone out there to help me put together a syllabus and a general overview of the course so that I know where I'm headed with it.

If anyone knows any great books to help that would be appreciated too.

Please email or post any helps you have.  I assure you it will be greatly appreciated!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re:Chemistry Syllabus?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2005, 12:56:50 PM »
I hate it when someone points posters to other forums, but at this moment I believe that's the best solution.

Please try to sign up for CHEMED-L group at uwf.edu listserver (see archives at http://mailer.uwf.edu/archives/chemed-l.html) - there are many teachers there and hopefully they will be better suited to help you then most of regulars here are.

PM me if you want detailed instructions on how to sign up.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

momof4

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2005, 12:17:09 AM »