Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Two questions  (Read 8033 times)

Offline MissPhosgene

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +23/-5
Two questions
« on: October 23, 2010, 10:10:49 AM »
Hello,

My boss has asked me to develop a synthetic route to a target which is essentially completely unprecedented and then make it. Since I am an undergrad, I assumed he meant search the literature and use what you have found. The molecule contains, among other things, an extremely rare trans-aminocyclobutanol with a tertiary center at the alcohol. I have a few ways to make it with complete control of stereochemistry (at least on paper), but nothing which is "lit". Is it a terrible idea for me to present those methods to him? I don't have any grad students or post-docs I can ask for help before going to him, so I am a little nervous.

I am having some trouble with my eyes turning red after I have been in lab for a while. I think it is due to working with acid chlorides because it happens when I use them and persists for a few weeks after I am done.  I handle them in the hood, fan going, sash low, syringes, and closed flasks. I wear gloves and change them frequently. Obviously I always have goggles on. I have to go back a few steps this week to make more of an intermediate I need and that requires that I use acid chlorides. Could I be right in thinking I have a reaction to acid chlorides? If so, is there any way I can prevent it? I typically spend 25-30 hours a week at my hood and the red-eyes have started to scare me a bit. I let my boss know and I now have closed goggles. However, I haven't worked with acid chlorides in a few weeks and think that may be the reason my eyes stopped turning red as opposed to the goggles preventing it. I've done my best to minimize exposure to them, but maybe there is something else I can do?

By red I mean completely blood-shot. It's a slightly delayed response in that it takes a few hours after I leave lab for them to reach their maximum redness.