April 27, 2024, 12:16:28 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Laboratory notebooks. What should they look like?  (Read 11394 times)

Offline Grundalizer

• Mole Snacks: +19/-31
Laboratory notebooks. What should they look like?
« on: November 19, 2010, 12:09:39 PM »
Hi, I'm currently a senior chemistry student going for my B.S. on the East coast.  I've always wanted to know what graduate student/professional chemists notebooks look like.  I'm not a very organized person, although I'm trying to change that with grad school on the horizon.  I simply can't neglect my lab notebook.  All the professors at my school had different rules on lab notebooks, some only let us right what we did in lab, others made us copy entire prelabs into the notebook so we could begin lab once we entered the lab...so it was hard to get into a rhythm of what is GOOD practice and what is some teacher's own preference or them just being anal control freaks.  I did get kicked out of lab once for refusing to fill up my lab notebook at home with a procedure, my reasoning was...what if i don't do step such and such?  Anyway, I'm still lacking on keeping my notebook up to date.  In the beginning I always keep all the pages dated and signed and have times written in, but now that it's later in the semester, i've forgotten to date pages, havn't taped in any of my spectrum readings, and have blank pages all over the place that i left open to "paste stuff in later".

needless to say, I don't think my notebook is very good.  I can take pictures later and post them up here so i can get some constructive criticism...but any tips you have would be MUCH MUCH APPRECIATED!

Do you use different colored pens?  Date and sign everything?  Leave pages open to paste things in...?

Thanks a lot!

Offline jake.n

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Re: Laboratory notebooks. What should they look like?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 01:57:46 PM »