March 28, 2024, 09:38:50 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: advice on planning research, etc ... lack of guidance for newer grad student  (Read 5035 times)

Offline snopez

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi,

I'm in my 2nd year of grad school and struggling with research.  I'm still finishing up classes, teaching, etc. and I'm happy to hear (from reading other grad student advice post) that I'm not the only one to put on 10-15 lbs!  But seriously, I feel like I'm not getting much guidance or instruction from anyone in the group.  I know I'm a grad student and I have to learn to think .. but I feel like putting in the work but getting nothing accomplished. 
In my group there are a few senior members, and each works in his/her own lab, are very solitary, and just don't seem to care about the younger group members (like me) or future of the group.   Also, we all have our own projects, so just a brand new student coming in, I did not have anyone to "show me the ropes," or for me to learn effective lab skills and time management and how to plan time in lab, etc.   
My advise is not around as much as he used to be (I'm told by older members) and we pretty much come and go as we please.  He does not demand a certain amount of hours, but he obviously wants results.   Also we currently do not have group meetings, and have GC and glove box that have been not working since I came in the group.   The senior group members are sufficient and just ready to graduate (most in this group take 6-7 years) and don't care about group meetings, equipment they don't use, cleaning the group room, etc.