April 25, 2024, 06:07:56 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: buying chemicals  (Read 16435 times)

yoma819

buying chemicals
« on: March 02, 2006, 05:15:35 AM »
hello i am a chemistry student in the uk and i wish to set up a lab at home
not mind you to do anything with explosives of anything but because i just like the idea of it
where can i get chemicals without being a company?
thank you
--yoma

Offline Albert

• Lonely Wanderer
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +112/-22
  • Half Decent Pharmaceutical Chemist
Re:buying chemicals
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2006, 06:39:50 AM »

Offline pantone159

• Mole Herder
  • Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +54/-6
  • A mole of moles doesn't smell so nice...
    • Go Texas Soccer!!
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 03:30:28 PM »
You might also try:
http://www.postapplescientific.com/
I don't know if they ship to the UK or not.

Also, you might try eBay.  It has been a while since I got any chemicals from anybody there, and my most recent cursory checks seemed to indicate that there was less of this than there once was.  (I did get much of my element collection from various eBay vendors.)

Also try and look for photographic chemical suppliers, there are probably some that will ship to the UK.  They won't have everything you might want, but many do have a decent inventory of chemicals.

Brone

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2006, 11:32:26 AM »
I am in a similar situation to you, in terms of being a student.

Unlike some horror stories I have heard from some US residants about buying chemicals or labware I have found suppliers in the UK to be very helpful.

In general, as long as you seem reasonably sensible reagent or lab suppliers will sell you anything you want, often with student discounts, if you ask.

www.labpakchemicals.co.uk : Small range of inorganic chemicals, dont be afraid to ask, they have a lot more in stock than they do on their webpage. Prices vary from reasonable to poor.