March 29, 2024, 07:02:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Carbonic Acid and Salts Lab  (Read 35193 times)

MilchstrabeStern

Carbonic Acid and Salts Lab
« on: August 29, 2005, 02:24:28 PM »
Hello,

I believe this is a common lab in a general chemistry course.

I am trying to help a friend with her lab, and although I am pretty good with chemistry, I am only in my first year of college, and all my memory is from my High School AP class. I am a Chemical Engineering major though.

The lab procedure is to take 1 Molar solutions(so the salts are first dissolved in distilled water) of CaCl2 and NaCl.

You then take 2 ml of ONE of these and place it in a graduated cylinder.

The next step is to add 23 ml of Carbonic Acid (also known as Alka Seltzer or H2CO3).

Then you place a stopper in, and flip the graduated cylinder over and measure the rate at which the gas is created.

You do this for both 1 molar solutions of the salts, and once with distilled water, so you have a total of 3 test.

My question is, what is going on here? What is the Carbonic Acid reacting with to release the gas (CO2?). How do the salts effect the rate of this decomposition, or release and gas, and why?

Any help would be Greatly appreciated!

Thanks Guys!

-Bryan

Blueshawk

Re:Carbonic Acid and Salts Lab
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2005, 02:50:18 PM »
It may be that you are creating Cl gas.  both salts of Cl, so it may be that that is what is going on.

I am not 100% sure, I am not familiar with this lab.

2NaCl(aq) + H2CO3(aq) -> 2Na+(aq) + HCO3-(aq) + Cl2(g) + H3O+   ??

CaCl2(aq) + H2CO3(aq) -> Ca+2(aq) + HCO3-(aq) + Cl2(g) + H3O+  ??
« Last Edit: August 29, 2005, 02:54:30 PM by Blueshawk »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2005, 03:09:27 PM »
The next step is to add 23 ml of Carbonic Acid (also known as Alka Seltzer or H2CO3).