March 28, 2024, 08:03:36 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Where Are The Chemistry Jobs  (Read 12326 times)

Offline Schweini

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Where Are The Chemistry Jobs
« on: January 05, 2011, 06:49:24 PM »
I have seen a couple of similar questions posed here. I really do not know who or where else to ask and I just feel like I am at the end of my rope here.

I graduated a year ago with a BS Chemistry (Analytical Organic) from a reputable American university. I have done two summer internships in my field one of which was abroad in Europe. Unfortunately after countless applications and absolutely zero replies, I have been basically working for free as a research assistant and taking whatever hourly lab technician jobs I could find. I have been searching for a year now for an entry-level salaried position, but there just seems to be almost none which do not require a specialized doctorate or relevant specialized experience.

It appears as if graduate education and only in the right field can get you a job in chemistry these days? I am seriously considering just going to some other professional school or finance. Any advice would really be appreciated.

Offline crosemeyer

• Mole Snacks: +3/-0
Re: Where Are The Chemistry Jobs
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2011, 12:40:53 PM »
Going to take a few years of experience to move on to salaried positions... Should be able to get a decent hourly analyst job, though.

/BS in Molecular Bio, working as an organic/inorganic analyst
//started 5 years ago @$10/hr
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 01:20:03 PM by crosemeyer »

Offline Fleaker

• Mole Snacks: +11/-0
  • Synthetic Chemist
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2011, 04:41:05 PM »
Move.

In my city, Craigslist shows 5 or so different chemistry jobs, most of them paying $14/h + without a Bachelors, and more money commensurate with experience.