April 29, 2024, 08:28:57 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What is heat?  (Read 6758 times)

Offline Hushai

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
What is heat?
« on: January 15, 2011, 12:50:45 AM »
Hi,

I am a new Chemistry teacher and I am trying to understand heat.  In thermodynamics, heat is defined as a transfer of energy due to a difference in temperature.  In the Zumdahl textbook it says that in an exothermic reaction heat is released to the surrounding.  However it does not say that the system has a higher temperature than the surrounding.  "potential energy in chemical bonds has been converted to thermal energy (random kinetic energy) via heat" (page 231).

My questions are these:

Is the system actually always hotter than the surrounding in an exothermic reaction?  If the surroundings had a higher temperature than the system, would we get an exothermic reaction?

Could heat and work (force acting over a distance) be distinguished and defined as microscopic and macroscopic work respectively?

Thank you

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: What is heat?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 05:39:02 AM »
Is the system actually always hotter than the surrounding in an exothermic reaction?  If the surroundings had a higher temperature than the system, would we get an exothermic reaction?

No, yes.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Hushai

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2011, 07:58:52 AM »
Let me rephrase one of my questions:

in an exothermic reaction heat is said to be released to the surroundings even though the system might be colder than the surrounding.  Since heat is defined as a transfer of energy from a hotter system to a cooler system, why is the energy going out of system due to an exothermic reaction still called "heat"?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator