April 23, 2024, 12:44:04 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: how to make 1 gallon of 3 % tannic acid solution  (Read 23428 times)

Offline deadlift1979

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
how to make 1 gallon of 3 % tannic acid solution
« on: January 25, 2011, 12:49:20 AM »
 hello everyone I have no chemistry experience at all.

I was wondering how to make a 1 gallon solution of 3 % tannic acid.

I have a child with severe allergies and I am tired of paying 60-90 dollars for allersearch ADS
 I know this is simple for you guys and thanks in advance

« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 04:57:39 AM by Borek »

Offline DevaDevil

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +55/-9
  • postdoc at ANL
Re: how to make 1 gallon of 3 % tannic acid solution
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 11:03:33 AM »
even myself -as a chemist- would never considering brewing medication at home. Especially not something as complicated as tannic acid (I have very limited organic chemistry experience)

Offline Fluorine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +22/-5
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 07:58:24 PM »
@deadlift1979
1 gallon is about 3,785mL, the density of water is 1g/mL so one gallon is 3,785g. 3% of this would be 113.55g of tannic acid. A quick google search shows a few sources selling about this amount for reasonable prices. Before you use it I would recommend reading tannic acid's MSDS to ensure safe handling, disposal, so forth.

@DevaDevil
I don't mean to speak for the user but 1) I don't believe they are attempting to synthesize tannic acid (it's readily available) and 2) this is not used internally for allergies (ie. not histaminergic antagonist), so it's not being used as a medicine. Take this excerpt;