April 16, 2024, 11:32:25 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: architecture:: CHEMISTRY :: photo  (Read 11894 times)

kroko

architecture:: CHEMISTRY :: photo
« on: September 08, 2005, 11:38:53 AM »
im a student of architecture and just faced a question, for which i simply cant find an answer in the net. maybe dont use the use right keywords, but last time i learned chemistry, and what i learned...
therefore while seeking a chemistry professor will ask for help also here:)
::
is there any chemical X/coating (doesn't matter if organic, inorganic) which changes its appearance (color, structure) when NOT applied to the sunrays, but goes back to original appearance when the sun is applied again.
the idea is simple: "BURN". i want to cover a surface (an exterior wall which faces sun) with this chemical (if such exists). when a person stands in front of it with his (sun-)shadow he can burn his figure on to the wall. it should remain there at least for that long, that the person when jumping aside :) can see it (1 sec. and up). then the sun "erases" it again.
the second possibility is reagent and catalysator (or how is it called..). it is possible that between the person and the wall there is a transparent surface (catalysator), which transmits (or disables) some specific range of wavelength, further affecting the wall coating. but here: if such possibility exists, will i be able to actually see the shadow through this "ransparent" surface if it transmits only some part of wavelength (not that i see:))
third possibility is some fluoroscent surface. well, is it a possibility? and if yes, what kind of fluoroscent? will it keep the shadow burned enough long?