April 18, 2024, 07:09:52 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Opening up a chemistry shop  (Read 12304 times)

Offline cnidocyte

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Opening up a chemistry shop
« on: November 30, 2010, 02:00:34 PM »
My dream is to start a chemical and lab equipment supply house when I have my degrees but an even better idea would be to start a walk-in chemistry shop. I've never even heard of a shop like this and I'd love to see one opened in my area. Obviously I couldn't be selling dangerous chemicals over the counter but glassware and various bits of equipment aren't hazardous by themselves so I don't see why I couldn't sell them over the counter. I'm not aware of any laws restricting the sale of things like heating mantles, beakers and flasks etc. The place would be a haven for chemistry enthusiasts and people just interested in chemistry, I'd setup all sorts of stuff like Geissler tubes, chemiluminescent stuff under UV and weird gas discharge lamps to make the place look cool.

I could sell my own product line of different smells. For example there'd be the smell of dead bodies with putrescine and cadaverine, the smell of dead fish with triethylamine, smell of skunk with all those weird thiols, smell of rotten eggs with iron disulfide etc. I'd never run outta ideas. Why are there no shops like this? I know home chemistry is becoming demonised by the government but it hasn't been outlawed.

Offline Fluorine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +22/-5
Re: Opening up a chemistry shop
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 06:45:26 PM »
Reasons, I think;

1) Lack of genuine, innocent, interest in chemistry.
2) "Sets", "kits", and "starters" online.
3) Internet's capability to ship (inter)national.