April 18, 2024, 10:51:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Where is contemporary Inorganic Chemistry heading?  (Read 4153 times)

Offline oscillate_wildly1

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Where is contemporary Inorganic Chemistry heading?
« on: March 06, 2011, 01:59:16 PM »
Hi,

I am very interested in inorganic chemistry, and find it to be the most interesting and engaging type of chemistry. I am currently undertaking a chemistry degree and wish to pursue a PhD in inorganic chemistry, however I am under the impression that job prospects for inorganic chemists are slim, as say, compared to an organic chemist due to increased competition from material scientists. 

Could anyone please share an insight into the future of inorganic chemistry and possible job prospects.

Kind regards,
O. W.

Offline jeffrey.struss

• Mole Snacks: +4/-0
Re: Where is contemporary Inorganic Chemistry heading?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 04:55:44 PM »
I am an inorganic chemist, that guess what, is employed in materials science. I do research on CdSe quantum dots. THis is a huge field which is a lot of fun to be in. THat being said, most of the inorganic work that is done commercially is done in a few areas: 1)catalysis 2)nanotech/materials science 3)MOFs for H2 storage 4) Medicine (this is related to nanotech in that most of the work is done using things like nanoclusters/tubes/crystals/etc.)

Offline DevaDevil

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +55/-9
  • postdoc at ANL
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2011, 02:34:25 PM »
cannot agree with you more, jeffrey.
As a physical and inorganic chemicst, I am now working in material science, developing nanocatalysts.

Offline ajkoer

• Mole Snacks: +5/-4
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2011, 11:52:33 AM »