April 29, 2024, 09:37:08 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Neutralization Solution Calculation  (Read 9747 times)

Offline ElSeba

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Neutralization Solution Calculation
« on: February 23, 2011, 05:12:58 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I am not a chemical engineer and the last time I had chemistry was in college 9 years ago, so please forgive any non technical lingo I may use in the following.

The manufacturer of an engine provides a two step type heavy duty radiator cleaner consisting of an acidic solution and a neutralizer as follows (verbatim):

- Acid: Mix 900 g (2 lb) of sodium bisulfate (NaHSO4) per 38 liters (10 gal) of water (25 grams per liter).
- Neutralizer: Mix 225 g (1/2 lb) of sodium carbonate crystals Na2CO3 per 38 liters (10 gal) of water (6 grams per liter)

A service company is offering a different combination of chemicals that they claim will do the work too. They are planning on using:

- Acid: Citric Acid (Anhydrous) C6H8O7
- Neutralizer: Sodium Carbonate (Anhydrous) Na2CO3

Relevant but not important: They mention that if oil/grease is present they may also use Trisodium Phosphate (Na3PO4). And for the neutralizer they also use a solution of Sodium Nitrite (NaNO2).

This company is not providing us with the exact concentrations they use (mainly because they are not very thorough) and so I am trying to come up with an Engineering reasoning as to concentrations for the Acid and Neutralizer solutions with the chemicals they offer.

1- What would the equation I need to balanced be in order to obtain the right amount of neutralizer (please use the given concentrations for the solutions to explain it).

2- If I need to calculate anions concentrations or pH what would these be for the second set of chemicals?

3- Anyone has experience in cooling system cleanup that can give me an idea of how well will the citric acid clean rust and scale?

Thank you all very much and I hope I formulated the question clearly enough.