March 28, 2024, 08:59:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Boiling point of a... gas? [N2O4 -> \ <- 2 NO2 (g)]  (Read 7604 times)

Offline BrahmaBull9813

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Boiling point of a... gas? [N2O4 -> \ <- 2 NO2 (g)]
« on: February 26, 2011, 05:27:03 PM »
I'm currently studying chemical equilibrium. In the textbook it says:

"The solid N2O4 vaporizes as it is warmed above its boiling point (21.2 C) and the gas turns progressively darker as the colorless N2O4 gas dissociates into brown NO2 gas."

I've never encountered the idea that a gas could have a boiling point, let alone boil. Can someone more knowledgeable please explain this idea?

Thank you
BB9813

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Boiling point of a... gas? [N2O4 -> \ <- 2 NO2 (g)]
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 06:07:52 PM »
I've never encountered the idea that a gas could have a boiling point, let alone boil.

Really? You have never heard about vaporization and condensation?
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline BrahmaBull9813

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 06:17:43 PM »
I've never encountered the idea that a gas could have a boiling point, let alone boil.

Really? You have never heard about vaporization and condensation?

I know that liquids vaporize into gases and gases condense into liquids, but I've never encountered the idea that a gas can boil, no. That's answering my question with a question though and that's not very... helpful.

Offline BrahmaBull9813

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 08:16:09 PM »
Whoops, I misread the statement. :P