March 28, 2024, 02:10:01 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to make copper powder from copper wires!  (Read 25374 times)

Offline leaualorin

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-1
How to make copper powder from copper wires!
« on: March 09, 2011, 01:35:33 PM »
Hello everybody!
I'm new to chemistry , looked the internet for some help regarding the subject "HOW TO MAKE COPPER POWDER"  , and I ended up here on this forum!
I  must first  specify that I'm not good at chemistry but  I am trying to do my best!
So , let's get it on  ;D :
While I was looking for the best ways and materials for  making orgonite  , I ended up  with more questions than answers and  from one issue I got to a lot of "issues" !
One would be that copper is the best  electrical conductor but I wanted it to have a very big surface area/gram ;
That could only be achieved by  making "copper nanoparticles" or buying it!
At 850$ a kg of nano sized  copper, I guess I will have to do it  ::)
So : I got my copper from a bunch of wires (I understand that the copper from the wires is obtained through the electrolitical way and is 99,96% pure, WICH IS GOOD for my orgonite! ).
I wanted to buy sulphuric acid and nitric acid for the "recipe" but 98% sulphuric acid is almost impossible to buy in ROMANIA and if you did find a supplyer they won't sell it to you unless you have some sort of "papers" ;  any other way they will call the police to "have a chat " with you...
So : I searched the net and got to electrolite for batteries!
This "acid" is 1,25-1,28 or so wich equals to about 30% concentration!
Not good at all I think...
Nitric acid I think I can buy without "drawing " too much attention!
My question :
 How do you REAL CHEMISTS suggest I should do in order to obtain an sulphuric acid that is closer to the 98% mark?
I read on some sites that the acid must be boiled to  325 degrees Celsius or even  337 degrees Celsius from wikipedia site!