April 25, 2024, 03:01:45 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What determines the difference between different exothermic reactions?  (Read 7966 times)

Offline ChungLing

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Is there an atomic particle or specific amount of energy that determines what kind of exothermic reaction is achieved?

Example:
ExoReaction 1 - Flame
ExoReaction 2 - Electrical Current
ExoReaction 3 - Light
ExoReaction 4 - Sound

What makes this difference occur? Is it a property of the materials being used, or is it a fundamental flaw in the Atomic Model?
If I am not being clear please let me know.

I am a Sophomore in high school, so when I asked my Chemistry teacher she was speechless for almost a minute before responding with "Google". And Google does not know all, sadly :l                                                                                                                                                                                     And Google does not know all, sadly :l
« Last Edit: April 17, 2011, 11:56:20 PM by ChungLing »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
If I am not being clear please let me know.

You are not clear, at least for me. Please elaborate.

I guess you ask why in different reactions energy evolves in different forms. Well - it doesn't matter. They are all equivalent. Using electric energy you can run a heater, lamp or drill - it all depends on how the energy is used.

I think your idea about properties is correct, but as I am not sure what the question is - I can be wrong.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline ChungLing