April 19, 2024, 12:31:31 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Acid Ether Synthesis  (Read 8299 times)

Offline MrHappy0

• Mole Snacks: +1/-3
Acid Ether Synthesis
« on: May 05, 2011, 01:41:07 AM »
Hey!

I am an undergrad chem student that is currently finishing up my second semester in orgo 2. As I am passing through my textbook and trying to remain entertained, I came across the synthesis of an Ethers. I'm often wonder how easy it would be to synthesize compounds with very little background and such.

So ...How easily could someone like me synthesize diethyl ether using Acid Ether Synthesis?

You can buy H2SO4 and Denatured Ethanol, right? Then all you would need to do is heat the solution under 150 and form your product. Can you buy ethanol that isn't denatured? The subject of denaturing ethanol is confusing as well.

I am just curious how realistic this is. I don't plan on performing this but it was just a nagging curiosity that I couldn't let escape me. So spread the knowledge!

Yes, I understand that diethyl ether is very dangerous (peroxides, flammability).

Offline voidSetup

• Mole Snacks: +5/-1
Re: Acid Ether Synthesis
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 01:58:37 AM »
Denatured alcohol means it contains additives that make it poisonous and undrinkable.  Otherwise people would have to pay liquor taxes on it.

Offline MrHappy0

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 02:06:36 AM »
Thank you VoidSetup. I did know that methanol was added due to its toxicity but can you buy ethanol that is pure?

What are some ways a typical chemist might purify denatured ethanol?

Offline voidSetup

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 11:37:50 AM »
I think they choose methanol because it has a similar boiling point as ethanol, so it can't be removed by simple distillation.  I'm not really sure how one could go about purifying denatured alcohol, but I think that some manufacturers do sell pure ethanol for very delicate work.

Offline Honclbrif

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +58/-10