April 26, 2024, 05:39:39 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Purifying really polar material  (Read 5185 times)

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +50/-8
Purifying really polar material
« on: July 19, 2011, 02:50:40 PM »
Hi all,

(cross-posted from Reddit)

I'm an organic chemist who is starting to put a toe into the world of bioconjugate chemistry...meaning that all the reactions I'm used to doing in organic solvents, I now have to do in buffers. I made a derivative of a particular molecule (a dye molecule, as it happens) and it's extremely water-soluble and not really soluble in organics at all. The crude reaction mixture has a lot of water, and considerable salt (mostly NaCl) as well as some small molecule, low MW byproducts which are also very water-loving. Does anyone with experience in these things have some good ideas for initial cleanup steps, like gel filtration or anything? This is a very practical question so the more specifics you can give (like the part number of a gel filtration plug filter) the better the answer.

Thanks!

Offline Honclbrif

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +58/-10
Re: Purifying really polar material
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 03:50:32 PM »
When you've got really polar material, reverse phase is usually the way to go. The best option is prep HPLC. If that's unavailable, you can get C18 chromatographic media in bulk or pre-packed into cartridges, but it tends to be dearly expensive. Solvent is usually something aqueous, with methanol or acetonitrile as the organic phase. If you need to adjust pH, it can be done with acetic acid, or which ever amine is favorite.

Since you're trying to get a dye, your life will be a little easier. Just look for bands that are the right color.
Individual results may vary

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 07:40:18 PM »