April 28, 2024, 05:52:20 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Environmental Chemistry (questions)  (Read 4445 times)

Offline newbie!

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Environmental Chemistry (questions)
« on: June 01, 2011, 06:10:14 AM »
1st of all i couldnt find a fitting sub- forum for this stuff so since i'm a undergrad i figured i'd post it here. (but if you can tell me a better place it might fit?)
the course its self it called "Environmental and ANalytical CHemistry" but i guess the environmental stuff doesnt really fit into the analytical sub-forum.

anyways questions:

1)Sketch a Pourbaix diagram for water and indicate where on the diagram can the condition be found for a volcanic lake through which SO2 percolates and for sewage water.
ok so i know the x and y axis (pH vs E) and i know toput in the boundaries for water stability.
i think SO2 (marked X) would give an acidic pH and sewage (marked Y) maybe alkaine?
this is what i have:
i know its wrong, but idk where the x and y should be?

2) Construct a diagram in which the species of mercury in seawater and in freshwater can be identified. The following possible mercury species have to be considered: HgCl2, Hg(OH)2, HgCl42−.
dont have much clue here. know the basic set up of pourbaix like axis and stuff but dont know where to start withthis q.

3) What is the molecular formula of CFC 11?
ok so add 90 = 101 so i have CF
i know the answer to this question is CFCl3 but i dont know where the Cl3 is coming from?

4) Explain why in many river estuaries mud flats are formed and why those sediments show higher concentrations of DDT than further upstream in the riverbed.
know how they're formed, but dont know why the ddt conc is higher...?

4b)
i think pH would be alkaline but idk how far up on the y-axis i'm supposed to go?
4c) How would iron behave when the colloids at the river mouth have a PZC of 2.0 ?
in my notes i have is pH<pHo the surface protonates, if pH>pHo the colloid is negative