April 26, 2024, 12:44:07 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: 2nd BS: Chemical Engineering  (Read 8782 times)

Offline phillyj

• Mole Snacks: +3/-0
2nd BS: Chemical Engineering
« on: June 02, 2011, 11:51:53 AM »
I graduated in Biochem but I realize now that I chose the wrong field. I hated the biology and I don't want to do Grad studies in Biochem or biology-related fields. I like chemistry but having fouled up my GPA, I'm still figuring out what to do. One idea was to get a masters in Chem. Eng. but looking at the courses, I realized that I would have to take many engineering classes that I didn't take as a Biochemist. Looking at a BS in Chem. Eng. (also about 2 years with my transfer credits), I think if I finish the BS and then apply for a PhD program. I think I will have a better chance. At this point, I have learned what I want to do with my life and am willing to put all my effort into it, unlike what I did for my Biochem BS.

Any opinions? Also, you guys keep telling me top find a Masters program that will pay me to study. I don't think you realize that my GPA was below 3.0 so why should anyone pay me to study anything? I didn't do exceptional research either, just 2 summers only. 

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
Re: 2nd BS: Chemical Engineering
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2011, 01:21:53 PM »
My undergraduate GPS was ~2.7. So I did a MS at a lower ranked school, still got paid and then used that experience to get into a world class PhD program.
And any amount of research will increase your chance.

Even if you can not get paid to get the MS, at least try and get the tuition provided (graduate tuition is usually 3X higher then undergraduate). You usually teach undergraduate labs, so its not free, its a job with tuition comped.