April 18, 2024, 11:22:07 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Fonctionnalisation of a beta amino acid.  (Read 14483 times)

Offline faust

• Mole Snacks: +3/-13
  • I'm a mole!
Fonctionnalisation of a beta amino acid.
« on: September 24, 2005, 10:09:26 AM »
Hello,

I have to synthetise
ethyl 4-(N-(3-methoxy-3-oxopropyl)-4-methylphenylsulfonamido)but-2-enoate

(just look the picture).

I'm an undergraduated student, so I need some help for this synthesis.

I think a good idee is to start from beta alanine.

I tryed to protect the beta alanine with TBSCl, but I doesn't work, I think the amine also react with TBSCl.

Than, I tryed to protect with a methyl ester. It works with a yield of 100% without purification!. And you can see the others steps of my synthesis on the picture. But I think it's a pretty long synthesis for a not really complicated molecule...

I could also use the ethyl bromo crotonate insteed of bromo allyl or ally carbonate so that I can avoid the ozonolyse and Wittig. But I don't really know how to selectivly unproted the methyl ester and not the ethyl ester.

So If you have any ideas with less steps (and so less purifications!) or any publications you're really welcome!

Thank you

« Last Edit: September 24, 2005, 10:10:19 AM by faust »

Offline HP

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +33/-5
Re:Fonctionnalisation of a beta amino acid.
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2005, 11:55:43 AM »