April 28, 2024, 05:10:31 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Melamine - Amide or Amine?  (Read 10602 times)

Offline mbracha

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
Melamine - Amide or Amine?
« on: June 28, 2011, 12:15:43 PM »
I'm a medical student, after a pretty hard exam. I'm trying to find a "case" to cancel one of the questions in the test. We were asked to circle the ormone that is not amine-hormone. I choose Melatonin, while the right answer is Melamine.

I need your briliant help to give me a case for claiming that melatonin isn't a amine (maybe in one stage of it's synthesis) or that melamine is amine, or some kind of amine derivates.

I know it's a long shot, but i'm sure there are some genius minds here that can twist it for me.

Have a great day.

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
Re: Melamine - Amide or Amine?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2011, 12:41:01 PM »
Melamine has multiple amine functional groups in it. It is an amine.

Melatonin has both a cyclic amine and a amide functional group in it. It is technically both.

However, melatonin however is a bicyclic amine, turning it into the indol functional group according to the IUPAC. Therefor technically by nomenclature from the IUPAC, melatonin is an amide and an indol. Indols have of course many similarities to amines.

It is not a twist. That is what it is. It is a stupid question in the first place.

Offline Åke

• Mole Snacks: +4/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2011, 02:17:24 PM »
enahs, indole is not really an amine it has more of an enamine character e.g. it is not basic and it reacts with electrophiles mostly at carbon (C-3).

mbracha, as far as I know melamine is not a hormone so how can melamine be the correct answer? Melatonin is a hormone with two nitrogen-containing functional groups: an amide and an enamine.

Offline mbracha

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2011, 04:09:22 PM »