March 28, 2024, 08:52:08 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Optimizing a magnetic field  (Read 8840 times)

Corvettaholic

Optimizing a magnetic field
« on: June 15, 2005, 04:23:39 PM »
As you all know I'm not that technical, so I'm going to explain this situation in non-technical terms. Lets say I have two NIB (neobydium or something, iron, boron) magnets, aka rare earth magnets. Both are 1"x1"x1" blocks. One has a 'pull strength' of 1 pound, the other has a pull strength of 10 pounds. I'm also not very metric friendly, by the way. Lets say I have a 10 pound chunk of steel. How do I figure out how far away I should place the steel from the magnet before it starts dragging it across the table? Assume the table is frictionless for simplicity.

There is a point to this, and some of you might be wondering what crazy experiment I'm trying to dream up this time...

It involves that thingy with Newton's balls and transferring kinetic energy.

arnyk

Re:Optimizing a magnetic field
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2005, 04:46:32 PM »
This sounds like a physics question to me.  The way I see it, when you say that it has a "pull strengh" of 10 pounds, would that be the max or the min?  Each magnet has its own magnetic field which is strongest at the poles, but the actual 'pull strength/force' will vary depending on the distance.  So the pull force really depends on distance, it is not constant at 10N or something all the time.  There's a formula to calculate the forces acting between two masses...umm...  F = ke1e2/d^2...  Actually I'm drawing a blank here -- haven't done this stuff since high school  :o.  Lemme brush up on this, or wait for a real physicist. ;)

Edit: Correction, that would be the formula for the forces between two charged masses.  Bleh, so rusty.

Random facts that won't help:
-magnetic field strengh measured in Teslas (T)
-pull strength would probably be in newtons.