March 28, 2024, 03:59:19 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: peroxide stability  (Read 8786 times)

Offline jayfivelim

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
peroxide stability
« on: August 01, 2011, 02:20:01 PM »
Can someone explain to me why some peroxides are very unstable? i.e. peroxides formed by picric acid?

Offline Benzenelover

• Mole Snacks: +0/-2
Re: peroxide stability
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 04:07:39 PM »
I believe it has something to do with the oxygen bond being easy to break, and the oxygen vapor being readily available to react with a nearby carbon compound.
I've been studying chemistry for a few months online. I'm here to learn new things, and share what I've already learned.

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 05:10:01 PM »
Peroxides are molecules containing an oxygen-oxygen single bond. Here is a table of bond energies:

http://www.cem.msu.edu/~reusch/OrgPage/bndenrgy.htm

If you look down the table to an O-O bond, you will find that at 35 kcal/mole, it is one of the weakest bonds listed. That means it takes relatively little energy to separate it into two oxygen radicals, each with an unpaired electron. These are highly reactive compounds, and if you look over the rest of the table, you will find that oxygen makes relatively strong bonds with almost any other element. That means you can get a lot of energy released by breaking a peroxide bond and forming a bond to almost anything else. Consequently, peroxides are very unstable.

Offline 408

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +103/-30
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2011, 01:15:24 AM »
The above answers are correct. 

But Picric acid DOES NOT form peroxides.  It forms metal salts which are sensitive. The acid by itself is harmless.

Offline Benzenelover

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2011, 02:25:04 PM »
Peroxides are molecules containing an oxygen-oxygen single bond. Here is a table of bond energies: