April 26, 2024, 08:05:48 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What path to take  (Read 8705 times)

Offline TheUnfocusedOne

• Mole Snacks: +6/-5
What path to take
« on: September 22, 2011, 08:48:16 AM »
Hey everyone,

I'm trying to sort out my life, so I figured I'd get some feed back from you all. I graduated 2010 with a BS in Chemistry and Biology, minor math from a decent school in RI. My GPA was ~3.30. While I was at school, I worked in a research group, recieve ~$2200 from grants in my school for it and went to 2 different ACS national meeting (and about a dozen regional ones). I never got a publication, which still gauls me since my project was shut down my senior year by H&S (no cyanide allowed in an undergraduate reserach lab...). I also had an internship which turned into a full time job once I graduated. Finally, right before I graduate I recieved then AIC outstanding senior in chemistry award for my school. I've been working in the field pretty much since the day I graduated. I'm currently working at a polymer plant, and I'm really not happy here. I moved here ~6 months after graduating and I've been here for ~10 months. The work is way outside my comfort zone, and it's been a struggle to get things together. I kind of consider this job a loss, since there isn't anyone I'd want to write a letter of rec for me and I haven't done anything note worthy.

I'm trying to decide whether I should 1) Apply directly to my PhD program of choice (JHU, UNC, UWisc, Georg Tech) 2) Apply to a slightly less renown school and get a masters (Bradeis, URI ect), then apply to a better program for PHD 3) Try to find another job that will give me a better opportunity to prove my skills and aquire another LOR.

At the moment I have 2 really strong LORs. I'm worried about the 3rd. I'm taking the chem GREs in Nov, and I've begun studying now (lots to remeber!). I took GREs once and got well abot 50% for both math and verbal.

What everyones thoughts?