March 28, 2024, 05:53:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Synthetic Organic Chemistry PhD programs  (Read 9017 times)

Offline jrich

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Synthetic Organic Chemistry PhD programs
« on: October 15, 2011, 02:34:57 PM »
Looking for some guidance and tips.

I graduated in '08 with a B.S. in Chemistry.  I knew I wanted to do a PhD eventually but wasn't ready to commit at that time. 
After a torturous job search I ended up doing environmental analytical with the govt for a year and a half.  About 6 months ago I took a new position with a custom chemical manufacturer in the R&D dept.  I love this job, though I don't make as much as I would like (the universal complaint I suppose!) and I truly believe that I will need a PhD to achieve my career goals.

I am in the midst of the planning and application process, but I find myself tiring of slogging thru websites for the perfect synthetic organic program.  I've already been to the us world news and reports website, etc.  I am most interested in the Northeast & East Coast region.  I would welcome your insights, opinions and strategies!

Thank you!

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
Re: Synthetic Organic Chemistry PhD programs
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 04:20:16 PM »
For a PhD, the quality of the school or the program isn't nearly as important as the quality of the person who will be your research advisor. In fact, I would say that your research advisor is all-important in choosing a graduate program.