April 25, 2024, 01:33:56 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: 2(alpha)bromination of carboxylic acids  (Read 5558 times)

Offline princess88

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
2(alpha)bromination of carboxylic acids
« on: October 18, 2011, 03:54:37 PM »
Hi! Firstly, my English is not very well. So, i’m so sorry for my errors:(

I’m a graduate student at organic chemistry and my thesis project is about hydroxy acids. But firstly, i have to get some initial products. Now, i’m trying bromination of C14 acid to get 2 (alpha) bromo-C14 acid. If i get alpha bromo C14 acid, i’ll make hydroxylation to get 2-hydroxy C14 acid. But i haven’t gotten my 2-bromo product yet. I’m using red phosporus, C14 acid and bromine. For my mechanism i’m using water bath which is at 80°C and continue to hyrolysis for 10 hours. After that i’m adding absolute methanol. But it wasn’t very succesfull. I’m really stressed for it and need some help… i’m investigating which another methods are possible for it, i need some prescriptions about the alpha bromination of carboxylic acids or acid chlorides.

I also examined the web site orgsyn.org which you have recommended but i didn’t find any information about this.

If you help me about this matter, I’ll be so glad..

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
Re: 2(alpha)bromination of carboxylic acids
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 04:20:40 PM »
Scifinder gives one set of conditions using PCl3 and Br2 which indicates a 100% yield...

Mesoionic 5-alkyl-1,3-dithiolium-4-thiolates: Synthesis and brine shrimp toxicity; Afonso de Almeida, Paulo et al From Heterocyclic Communications, 8(6), 593-600; 2002

They show another synthesis from the ester, but don't indicate reagents.

I suspect searching for a generic alpha-bromination of carboxylates on relatively long-chain alkyls would give a lot more examples.

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history