April 23, 2024, 08:03:29 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help me make a homemade topical spironolactone lotion.  (Read 7603 times)

Offline thenthreesixty

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help me make a homemade topical spironolactone lotion.
« on: October 15, 2012, 09:31:57 AM »
Hello everyone :)

I need some help making a lotion and I'm a relative chemistry newbie so would appreciate if some of you learned chemistry enthusiasts would help me out.

Basically, I want to create a topical spironolactone lotion for hair loss. It's expensive online and I think I can make homemade worth it, provided it's a good quality.

I intend to make a 5% solution by weight. So 5mg to 1gram. My issue is what to combine it with and how to go about combining the ingredients once I've decided on them. Again, complete newbie.

Source: J Pharm Sci. 1991 Jun;80(6):551-3.
Preformulation studies of spironolactone: effect of pH, two buffer species, ionic strength, and temperature on stability.
Pramar Y, Gupta VD.
Department of Pharmaceutics, University of Houston, TX 77030.

"Using a stability-indicating HPLC assay method, the effect of pH, two buffer species (citrate and phosphate), ionic strength, and temperature on the stability of spironolactone in 20% solution of ethyl alcohol in water has been studied. The optimum pH of stability appears to be approximately 4.5. On increasing the buffer concentration, both species hastened the decomposition of spironolactone. The ionic strength did not affect the stability of the drug. The energy of activation has been estimated to be approximately 78.8 kJ/mol at pH 4.3. The un-ionized spironolactone is subject to general acid-base catalysis. The Kh and Koh values at 40 degrees C have been estimated to be 1.63 and 2.8 x 10(5) day-1, respectively. The HPO4(-2) ion had approximately 10 times more catalytic effect than the H2PO4(-1) ion. This data will be used to develop a stable oral liquid dosage form of the drug." PMID: 1941547