April 29, 2024, 12:53:07 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Test help - Comparing qualities, Acidity, Reaction Mechanisms  (Read 2937 times)

Offline Opalescent

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Test help - Comparing qualities, Acidity, Reaction Mechanisms
« on: November 07, 2011, 12:48:35 AM »
Hello folks! This is my first post here so I'll do a quick introduction I guess. I'm a sophomore in college and am double majoring in chemistry and math, planning to teach at the high school level. I have always been an excellent student, especially in these subjects, but am finding myself struggling in organic chemistry due to the teaching style. Let me give some explanation so you can understand the questions I have. If you just want to skip all this to my questions, skip to the row of asterisks below, but you'll miss some context and won't be able to help me as well. My questions are MOSTLY just confirming that the way I'm thinking is right, but I do have some legit "I HAVE NO CLUE" questions.

Our professor wrote our textbook (read: it's self-published) and it does not take any approach that any of my friends at other universities have seen and can help me with. Here is my textbook, which you can access it entirely by registering, save for the questions which are in a separate book. http://ochem4free.info/node/128

We have a test Thursday over chapters 4-6. Our professor moved it then because nobody in my class understands the material at all and we already had a disproportionately low first test grade. Usually around 75 or so, our class average was 67... I got 92. However I've been getting around 75% on the last two weeks' assignments and I want to understand this stuff before the test. Quick overview:

Chapter 4 is on comparing melting points, boiling points, density, solubility, etc., based only off of a molecular structure. I mostly get that, but there are a few questions I have.