April 28, 2024, 07:01:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Methyl butyrate and other questions.  (Read 4032 times)

Offline futurebrewer

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Methyl butyrate and other questions.
« on: December 19, 2011, 05:09:01 PM »
I am very new to Organic chemistry. In fact, we haven't really covered it in my General Chem class much. I have a couple of really random questions.

1.) Is it possible to make methyl butyrate? What I mean is can I make this in my home or does this have to be created in a lab setting with fancy equipment? I'd love to try if it's possible.

2.) Can somebody point me in the direction of some easy experiments that I can do from my home. My main interest in chemistry comes from brewing, but I am fascinated by anything to do with tastes, scents, etc.. (hence the metyl butyrate). I'll take any fun experiment ideas you have!

3.) Why is it that you can drink Everclear, which is 95% alcohol, but you cannot drink ethanol in a chemistry lab? I apologize if this is a stupid question. I'm just confused because I thought that Everclear is pure alcohol (ethanol).

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Methyl butyrate and other questions.
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2011, 05:28:34 PM »
For 1, you probably should make it in an organic chem lab.  The standard student's ground glassware kit is better than a mason jar and a rubber hose for controlling reactions, keeping the product contaminant free, heating with a steam bath instead of open flame, etc.